Skip to content

DEB’S BIG ADVENTURE

May 27, 2010

I told you about when I fleww..right?

http://bigglescandoit.com/2010/04/24/i-flewwwwwwww/

Well I am gonna fly again, and I am gonna have a flight lesson for the hour that it takes to fly from Red Bluff airport to Angwin airport, at the college in St. Helena, where I am having my knee replacement surgery.

THAT IS CORRECT! A scant three weeks after walking the Bay to Breakers and my knee is winding down to a mere strand of shredded tendon! I have certainly gotten my money’s worth out of the original equipment before going for the trade-in.

My doctor forbade me to RUN in the race, but said that I could walk to my tolerance level and it would be fine to participate.  He was very pleased at the progress I have made since replacing the other knee three years ago.

Right now I have my flight terror going on

(which is like, “OH NO!!  THEY WANT ME TO FLY??  MEEEE?  HAVE THEY MET ME???” ) hmmmmm….

At least, it is keeping me from having the Surgery terror, which I will have that NIGHT, once I am trapped there and facing surgery the next morning (6/9) and then I will be saying

OH CRAP!! THEY ARE GONNA HAMMER ON MY KNEE TODAYYYY AAAAAAGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!   GRIN
That should be fun….the flying part. Surgery…welllll–I will just have to look forward to getting it over with!!

On a more sober note:

I had to buy a walker for my upcoming knee surgery.  It can be a very traumatic experience—buying your first wheeled walker. They are the thing that you

MOST

never want to have to get….because       it means that YOU are

OLD          right?

BUT…

I had a walker for the last couple of knee surgeries (and of course I don’t know where

THAT walker went, so now that I need to buy one again!)
A walker—well it just  AIN’T NO BIG THANG!

They are WAY easier to use then crutches and I will fix mine up with a horn and a basket…
…and internet/cable with a fold-down dvd player and a small fridge. yeah… GRIN

So I got the walker. I had asked them at the hospital, should I show up with a walker–or will you give me one? They said Oh Yeah…we can “give” you one ($300!). I said I will bring my own, which the insurance paid $100 and I paid $25 so I am really glad I asked!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

