Skip to content

I’M OFF TO SEE THE WIZARD

June 8, 2010

It is Tuesday, June 8th. I will be headed to the airport in Red Bluff this morning to take a flight lesson. Irwin and I will

go through the checklist together

THIS IS SO EXCITING!

That is about as much enthusiasm as I can muster on an early Tuesday morning…

We will be flying for about an hour, at an altitude of 6500 feet.  We will have a great view from up there. I have completed my ground school training and now I am gonna take a flying lesson.

Destination: Angwin Airport in St. Helena, CA.

This is the Napa Valley/Calistoga area, where my Orthopedic Surgeon (Dr. Thomas Coon) will be ready to replace my knee.  The knee has been a trooper, allowing itself to carry me all the way here–to

nearly age 50, and one Bay to Breakers event!

This knee has now spent its last breath (mixed metaphor?)

I am looking forward eagerly to the flight, not so much the destination!

I am glad to know that my Mom and Dad will be there!  That makes me feel better.

I have enjoyed myself in this life and felt the pain of loss too.  If this turns out to be my last big adventure,

So be it!

Flying is hazardous!  Surgery can be risky…but I am confident of my absolute safety:

Simply put–

My friend John will not allow any dramatic exits.  Thus it is that you have my utmost certainty and assurance

that I will go and return safely, and live through this week.  I vow to continue to be my whiny bitchy crabby SELF. Amen.

As Arnold said,

“I’ll be back”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

