Skip to content

CHICKIE PRANK

April 1, 2011

Linderloo was my Principal when I taught at the School-age Program

She has her favorite story about April Fool’s Day in Ms. Deb’s class!

We shared the building with a preschool class. Every Spring the preschool staff would bring in some fertile eggs and an incubator,

so that the kids could watch the process of the chicks being hatched.  The eggs came from a local farm operation, and the baby chicks

would be there for about a week over Easter and then they would be returned to the farm.

ONE YEAR…

as luck would have it, the last day of the week was APRIL FIRST

the chicks were going back to the farm on the following Monday.

I thought to myself….

PERFECT!

Before my class arrived that day I

C  A  R  E  F  U  L  L  Y   removed ONE baby chick from its siblings. I placed it in a separate

room away from the box where the remaining chicks sat nestled together under the warming light. *

The kids had gone straight to the snack table in the other room and I came in,

looking frantic.

“Kids!  One of the CHICKIES is MISSING!  COME AND HELP ME FIND IT!”

All of the kids immediately rose up from the table and filed into the next room and they began to carefully tip-toe around the room,

searching underneath shelves and tables

(some younger, more imaginative kids were looking UP…)

Every child was busy looking for that missing baby chick!

I stood quietly by the door. Eventually, one of the kids noticed

that–I had stuck on my rear end–

This construction paper cut-out glued feathers and a little wiggle eye  It was a chick. It had a beak that was slightly scrunched

and it was

stuck to my butt.

I thought that the kids would go wild!  I was pretty disappointed at the result, which was anti-climactic

The first kid said,

“Oh man…Ms. Deb has got a chickie on her butt. Ho Humm…Let’s go back to the snack table.”

One by one they shuffled past me, rolling their eyes and giving me looks of disdain.

I was disappointed and surprised!

I mean, while it is TRUE that I DID play lots of tricks and pranks in my class–

I THOUGHT THAT AT LEAST one KID

WOULD LAUGH.

I stood there puzzling what might have gone wrong and why I did not manage to elicit ONE single solitary GIGGLE:

Then

From the snack table

I heard them whispering…

“heh heh heh  Did you see Ms. Deb’s Butt with a chickie on it?  heh heh heh  That was pretty funny..”

Every child told the story to their parent at pick-up time that day.

By the following Wednesday, EVERY CHILD had made their own version of a flat-beaked chicken that they wore

Proudly

on their  BUTT.

I told Linderloo

(MY BOSS)

the whole story and she

LAUGHED UNTIL SHE TURNED BLUE

In fact, I believe that she laughed all the way to the County Schools office…

Where she put a complaint in my personnel file (Questionable Teaching practices? Cruelty to animals)

 

*     *     *     *

I believe that we all need to have a sense of humor in order to keep our sanity in a crazy and scary world.

We need to foster this sense of humor and an ability to identify the absurd. It is a positive coping tool.

If I am able to help one person in the world to laugh at their troubles and move on,

I have been successful in life.

Happy April Fools Day!

*    *     *     *

*Note: NO CHICKIES OR OTHER ANIMALS WERE INJURED IN THE MAKING OF THIS PRACTICAL JOKE.  SAID CHICKIE WAS SAFELY RETURNED TO THE NEST WITH ITS FAMILY. They went home to the farm and lived happily ever after.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

