Skip to content

THE DEVIL MADE ME DO IT (LD-4)

October 31, 2011

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Isn’t it funny how every Halloween we hear about how celebrations are being curtailed. First it was the old razor-blade-in-the-candy-bar rumor

Click for the truth

And then the invented and fake stuff

Click for the fantasy

Now we hear the reasons for NOT celebrating Halloween at school are:

So that people of different cultures will not be offended

So that people who cannot afford to dress up in a costume will not be singled out

So that children will not lose a day of EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES.

OK HERE WE HAVE A DISAGREEMENT!

Halloween is an excellent learning opportunity!!  OK granted a lot of people want to steer clear of witches, demons, skeletons, Freddie Kruegers and all of the other scary ghostie manifestations.

FINE. Don’t do that.

Instead, why not make a THEME?  Pirates are fun! Kids love pirates! So what if they have a (looting, robbing, pillaging,rampage)

BACK STORY…

This is meant to be taken in fun.

OK so Pirates may be OUT as well, if you want to think too long about it.

WHAT ABOUT DRESSING UP AS: RONALD MCDONALD, THE HAMBURGLAR, THE BURGER KING, THE CAMPBELLS SOUP KID OR AN APPLE?

yes…I am suggesting that we all dress up as Corporate symbols. There is the real scary stuff!!!  Gives me the

HEEBIE    JEEBIES

I digress….

Read this article that I found, about the reasons that people are AFRAID of HALLOWEEN!

SCHOOLS DON’T WANT COSTUMES

Really, it is not a big thing to let kids have this ONE Thing…

They have lost most of the great character-fostering extra-curriculum–

No recess, playgrounds, swings, music, art…..NO     PLAY….

YOU MUST NEVER UNDERESTIMATE

THE VALUE OF PLAY FOR A CHILD

Creativity, social interaction, imagination….

THESE ARE GOOD THINGS! THESE CAN BE TEACHABLE MOMENTS!

Of course, a sense of humor is necessary. You might get a kid who comes to school dressed

as Ghaddafi….

or a 99% er….

Halloween might be a political statement for some. Personally I would rather see a kid dress up as a

Zombie

not

Mit Romney..

hahahahaha That sounded funny inside my head!

 

***

Here is a story, certainly a Halloween tale, but most likely fits the Little Debbie category.

 

@@@

 

LITTLE DEBBIE PART 4

Little Debbie Part 3

I was an unusual little girl. I am the memory-keeper of my family.

I want to take some of these memories out once in awhile, and sift through them like old postcards from friends. It is a sunny and beautiful breezy HALLOWEEN. PERFECT!

(    *    )    (    *    )    (    *    )    (    *    )    (    *    )    (    *    )    (    *    )

Little Debbie’s Halloween (circa 1968)

I went trick-or-treating one year as a little old man. The reason I decided on that as my costume (and BELIEVE ME, I put a lot of thought into my costumes!) I had found a mail-order catalog and sent away for a pair of Groucho glasses and a skinhead wig. I remember that it was fascinating to me this idea that you could cover up your hair with a ‘realistic’ looking bald head. It looked more like a flesh-colored bathing cap.

Anyway my plan was that I could wear this costume and when I got any lollipops in my bag, I would put them in my mouth and allow the stick to protrude out of the nose. I know—I was kind of a weird kid. Unique (like a snowflake…only taller.)

That year I knocked on the door of the Elshots, where Baby Kevin lived. His mom, Rita, was always very kind to my friend Eric and I because we came over to play with Kevin.

Back in the late 60’s, the way to cure a baby’s curving         “Pigeon-Toes” …they would cast the legs from toe to thigh and put a bar between them. As you may imagine, it was handy to grab the bar and haul the kid up when you are changing diapers. Other than that, it must have been HELL on any kid that had to endure it!

Kevin was casted thusly and that made for a grumpy little guy! His Dad (Ray I think) had landscaped their back yard into a Japanese Water garden, complete with turtles. I just loved going there! Eric and I would sometimes just sit and watch Rita in the kitchen and we would visit with her. Something weird:

Rita ate butter.

Eric and I watched her on a few occasions while she was making toast or something. She would cut a slice of cold butter and put it directly in her mouth. We thought that was weird. Later in life I wondered about that, as Rita was very slim. How does a person who eats butter, stay so slim?

Anyway, I have not lost my thread, as it were…I was talking about that particular Halloween when I went to Rita’s door. I went up there with a bunch of neighbor kids.

“TRICK OR TREAT!” Rita dutifully held out the candy bowl and we all helped ourselves politely to one piece of candy.

(Do you know what? I could not tell you WHAT type of candy it was either, Smartass!)

Rita whispered, “Debbie, stay. Wait for them to go…I have something SPECIAL for you!”

I waited…the other kids hurried off to the next doorstep and I lingered at the door. Rita came back with a tray of home-made cookies. These were not just COOKIES though. My mom made cookies all the time: peanut butter, chocolate chip—sugar cookies at Christmastime. These were special. They looked to me like raspberry-filled fig newtons

That she had baked herself.

Right away I felt uncomfortable. Halloween candy had been a huge emotion-charged issue for most of my life and certainly ALL of my Trick-or-Treat career.

The rules for kids were very clear:

NO eating candy of any kind until it was brought home and inspected!

NO unwrapped candy, suspicious looking or previously opened candy.

NO Home-Mades…

Even as a kid of 8 or 9, I remember that I felt so very uncomfortable, knowing that when I brought these cookies home—these obviously complicated and lovingly made, special

Just-for-me cookies—my mom was gonna chuck them right in the garbage.  I took them from Rita and thanked her—what else was there to do?  Should I have said, “Thanks, but no, my Mother does not allow me to take unwrapped food?” What would Rita think about that? I took them home, prepared to defend them.

Mom: “Debbie, you know the rules…no unwrapped food!”

Me: “But Mom! That is when it is from strangers! This was from Kevin’s mom! We know her…”

Mom: “I know honey, but we just cannot take a chance like that.”

With that, she threw them away and (although I don’t remember) I think that I cried.

Maybe my mom thought I was upset because her chubby little girl liked to eat cookies

It was not that I particularly WANTED to eat them! In fact I don’t think I would have liked them, but Rita thought I was special, and she made something just for me and a few of the kids probably because we were sweet to her little boy.

So there may have been a misunderstanding about why I wanted the cookies. I knew that I could NOT FACE Rita again. I avoided her as much as possible! I wonder now about what she thought…I just knew that at some point she would eventually ask me if I liked her cookies—and I would have to lie to her and say they were delicious. I might need to tell her the truth, which I was certain would hurt her feelings deeply, no matter how nicely I tried to explain that there were rules.

Maybe she really DID poison them—as my parents suspected.

Maybe Rita wondered why I was still walking around, after those cookies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

