Skip to content

THAT LADY ON STAR TREK

January 7, 2012

MY MOM WORKED AT MOVIELAND WAX MUSEUM…

..when my brother and I were teenagers. I remember that they had a big promotion in order to gain publicity for two new exhibits that were going in (this was about 1974). Star Trek was one of my favorite shows when I was eight. It was the reason that I learned to use a dictionary.

Ya see…the show was coming on one night and I was excited…

Debbie: Daddy! It’s almost time for Star Track! Star Track is     coming on…!

Dad: It’s “TREK”.

Debbie: Huh?

Dad: It’s not “TRACK”, it’s “TREK”.

Debbie: What’s “TREK”?

Dad: Look it up.

Debbie: Where?  How?

My Dad introduced me to the dictionary. He told me how to look up words. It really helps if you know how to SPELL the word!

I still have the same dictionary. Webster’s New World Dictionary. I am pretty sure that more recent dictionaries have many more words in them than this one does.

Words like   “interface”    “cubicle”     and       “trekkie”

***

Anyway, The Wax Museum put out several ads:

The TV Commercials Trumpeted Thus:

NEW! STAR TREK! NEW! PLANET OF THE APES…

…which of course was in reality

THE OLD STAR TREK AND THE OLD PLANET OF THE APES.

Since she worked there, my Mom got to meet a bunch of the original cast members from Star Trek. She had her photo taken with Nichelle Nichols. Ms. Nichols, you may recall, played Lt. Uhura.

I still have the picture.

I keep it in the dictionary.

 

***

Planet of the Apes had

THE BEST PART EVER

in a MOVIE–

When Charlton Heston comes upon the Statue of Liberty, buried up to her belly-button in the sand…

and he says….(well you know what he says…)

 

 

*

 

 

*

 

 

*

 

George Taylor: You Maniacs! You blew it up! Ah, damn you! God damn you all to hell!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine Maxwell permalink
    January 9, 2012 4:02 am

    That was a very special job that I had at Movieland Wax Museum. My responsibility was to work with tour companies that brought tours to the Anaheim/ Buena Park CA area. Many would book a combination ticket that would include Knott’s Berry Farm, our neighbor attraction. Getting to meet some of the actors that were represented in wax was an extra perk.

    Thank you daughter for bringing back a nice memory.

    Mom

  2. Elaine Maxwell permalink
    January 9, 2012 4:04 am

    Nice website!

    • January 10, 2012 1:04 am

      Thank you for visiting my website. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

