Skip to content

GONE MAD

February 17, 2012

John_Severin

 

I USED TO READ MAD MAGAZINE FROM COVER TO COVER

One of the Founders of Mad Magazine passed away this week. John Severin and William Gaines founded MAD.

 

William Gaines

My Mom and i both read the book, The Mad World of William Gaines, around 1975.

My Mom went to Acapulco on a business trip.

There at the NEXT TABLE in a restaurant, was Bill Gaines and the entire writing staff of MAD!

The book describes these trips that the whole gang often took and–HERE THEY WERE.

My Mom went over and said, “Excuse me, but aren’t you Bill Gaines…?”

THEY GAVE MY MOM AN AUTOGRAPHED PICTURE OF ALFRED E. NEWMAN,

THE WHAT-ME-WORRY KID.

How cool is that.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sewana permalink
    August 17, 2014 8:03 pm

    Good to see a talent at work. I can’t match that.

Leave a comment