Skip to content

PLAY BALL!

March 23, 2012

MANY YEARS AGO…

…and for a short duration~

I played on a softball team made up of members of the GREATER REDDING CHAMBER OF COMMERCE .  The team was made up

of local business people, chamber members who were regulars at the Greeters meetings.  Greeters

I was a pitcher for a game against the media, the local station KRCR

This was, as I say…quite awhile back in the nineties.

The anchorman, Cal Hunter, got up to bat.

He is a really nice guy, is my recollection.

Cal was wearing shorts and he had the

WHITEST LEGS I’VE EVER SEEN.

(whoops…sorry Cal!)  GRIN

So I started to use my glove to sort of

SHIELD

my eyes because it was a sunny day and the light was so bright as it reflected off of Cal’s

WHITE LEGS

(again, sorry…)

Well anyway…he was very good-natured and he squinted back at me and said,

“Who are you?”

haha

I don’t remember if we won that game or not so I’ll just say that

WE DID…

and call it square. or Squat, if I type that too fast.

AFTER THAT GAME, WE WERE

called by the manager of one of the local radio stations, which no longer exists.

The manager, Paul Barth, HE still exists, as far as I know. I hear him and recognize his voice on commercials.

 

The radio station had a sort of southwestern themed DOG as their logo and was called

K-9

Paul called the Chamber office. He said that he had scheduled our Chamber of Commerce team to play against a team that was called the

Coors Silver Bullets

This team was coming to Redding.

Paul very generously arranged the game and then he personally promoted it on the radio.

I remember his commercial:

This Saturday come join the fun as our local Chamber of Commerce softball team takes on the Silver Bullets! Come out and support your local team and watch the game!

 

Oh! Yay! Great! Wheeeeeeeee….!

 

THEY    HANDED    US    OUR     B  U  T  T  S    !

It was embarrassing.  No…

Humiliating

The score was –I don’t know, I have blotted it out. It was like 90 to 1.

It stopped being FUN

around the second inning. We sucked and they were AWESOME.

Oh wait…they are a professional (that means they get paid) team and a professional team, by definition, hardly ever sucks.

They were good at their jobs and we were in it for the

well…um  er   ~the FUN.

By the way,

Our pitcher was a clown.

Oh. Crap.

I said the   C    word…

Interesting

to me, was the fact that

AFTER

we got skunked, Paul had a NEW commercial on the radio.  He had a tone of mirthful mischief.   He said:

If you attended the game this weekend, you saw the slaughter.

The Coors Silver Bullets annihilated our local team from the

Chamber of Commerce!

A good time was had by all!

Be sure to come out again, NEXT WEEK, when the Silver

Bullets will play OUR TEAM, from K9 Radio!

Well.

Then it all made sense!  He knew that we would lose, and lose we did. BADLY (or I guess we were Good Losers)

The Silver Bullets were very good. it was a slaughter, as in lambs.

(hey, it’s almost Easter…)

He wanted to build on our prostrate bodies

A CROWD,

A FOLLOWING….

For his team.

Ahhhhh…such is marketing.

..

Advertising is the rattling of a stick inside a swill bucket.   ~George Orwell

..

So…I wrote a song. I sang it on the radio the following week, on the Dave and Kathy Show on K-9 radio.   🙂

 

Of all the songs that Biggles and I used to do, as Deb’s Party Service (and we did A LOT OF SONGS)~

The one I wrote for k9 radio that I did for  the fun of it…

THAT WAS MY FAVORITE.

It is also the only one that I still remember to this day.

I will sing it for you if you ask         (wink)

##

ACTUALLY, I LIED.

IT WASN’T ME AT ALL. IT WAS BIGGLES.

HE WAS ARRESTED AND JAILED BUT

because of the extreme over-crowding,

(and apparently there are a lot of   Cl..ns     in prison)

They let him out.

Pity…

I have a photo (from the paparazzi) of incarcerated Biggles :

My song:

(sung to the tune of TAKE ME OUT TO THE BALL GAME)

Hey, K-9’s got a ball team, and

I’ll bet their Boss is so proud! But,

chasing a ball ’round a field like that-

could give these old geezers a Car-di-ac!

Let’s Recruit some Little   Old   Ladies–

To TEACH them a new trick or two…

Now let’s

SIT   BEG    And ROLL OVER DEAD

With the K  9      CREWWWWW!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

