Skip to content

HAPPY EASTER!

April 9, 2012

Saturday got me thinking about the other previous Saturday-before-Easter

events that I had participated in as part of the festivities…in past years.

BIGGLES the (uhhh…)

Biggles used to dress up in an Easter Bunny costume and go to the Kiwanis Club Easter Egg hunt and pancake breakfast. We did that for years and years! The Easter bunny would arrive– incognito, having the opportunity to snorf down several layers of pancakes and sausages (what sort of jobs do these guys do the rest of the year? They sure know how to make a good breakfast)

Then the Easter Bunny would sort of lead the kids (littlest ones first!) and we would give them a “ready-set-GO!!’

and they would go!

Then the E-Bunny was pretty much excused for the time being as there was that mad scramble for the eggs 🙂

After the egg-getting and the questions     “can-I-Eat-This-now?’     They usually wanted to pose for pictures with the Easter Bunny.

LOTS of KIDS…

were a-scared

Well, YEAH…there is  a

GIANT BUNNY!

Have you seen the teeth on those things? Didn’t you see the Monty Python Movie?

 

Well, I never ATE ANYONE. I guess they were not all that worried.  Once, when the egg hunt took place on the lawn

in front of Nova High School….I was wearing a bunny costume that I borrowed from the Mt. Shasta Mall. The furry pants were really

ITCHY

I thought that they fit ok, so I did not utilize the suspenders.

BIG MISTAKE!

The kids met me at my car.

They did what ALL KIDS do…

They grabbed me around the hips and hugged–

And sat down–

and–

ALMOST PULLED DOWN MY FURRY BUNNY PANTS.

(  oops   )

Then everyone would’ve seen that the Easter Bunny had on pink undies

and NO fluffy powder puff tail…

 

The only other “ALMOST” OOPS

was when the Easter Bunny appeared at a day care center and I went into each classroom

and visited the kids that were there. Everyone was having a great time (including me)!

Until the Teacher in one of the classrooms said, “Easter Bunny! Come sit down on this chair!”

I went to sit down (incidentally, I CANNOT SEE VERY WELL IN A BUNNY SUIT!!!) and I could not

SEE THE CHAIR but the TEACHER was guiding me to it…

and then

for some odd reason

at the last second

it was decided

that the Easter Bunny

should NOT SIT THERE…

but HERE…

THEY MOVED THE CHAIR

JUUUUUUST as I was getting ready to sit on it.

well

well

well WHAT HAPPENED??!!

I fell on my —–

BUNNY BUTT.

The worst part was that my bunny

HEAD

was merely seated and not secured upon my head.

I had to GRAB it to keep it from tumbling off and horrifying the children…

AAAAAAGGGGHHHH!!!!

HEADLESS    EASTER     BUNNY     !!

talk about scary…

Any way you look at it, it was traumatic (I’m talking about traumatic —FOR ME!)

It just figures. Easter has never been a big holiday in my house, growing up. We got dumb things

as gifts. My friends would be so happy on Easter! They all got huge baskets loaded with chocolate eggs

and marshmallow Peeps.

They would say,

I got 5 pounds of chocolate!

Another one of my friends would top that

I got 10 pounds of chocolate! What did YOU get, Debbie?

I got pajamas.

ONE YEAR WE GOT CANDY…

My brother and I awoke to find a trail of little chocolate eggs…leading us down the hall, down the stairs…

right up to a big Easter basket with a gigantic Sees candy solid chocolate egg! YUM!!

My Mom, always a creative one–she had bought each of us a coconut and encircled it with some ribbon and bric-a-brac

to resemble a hairy brown Easter egg.

That was cool. I like coconuts!

The problem was when I attempted to crack it open with a hammer.

After a good solid CRACK with the hammer, the two halves of the shell fell aside, revealing a sort of sickly gray oval that was a bit mushy and sort of smelly.

My Mom had given me a ROTTED coconut for Easter…

Did I give my Mom a tough time about it? Did I tease her about it for a little while??

NO.

I TEASED HER ABOUT THAT ROTTEN COCONUT FOR YEARS AND YEARS AND YEARS AND—

Oh. I need to go call my Mom.

See ya!

🙂

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Hudson-Sommers permalink
    April 9, 2012 10:12 pm

    LOVE IT AND YOU!

    • April 10, 2012 5:30 am

      Thank you! Back at you! Thanks for being an RRR Regular Returning Reader!

  2. Elaine Maxwell permalink
    April 10, 2012 12:46 am

    I am still waiting for that call! love, MOM

    • April 10, 2012 5:29 am

      I guess you’ll just have to call me!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

