Skip to content

FREE TO OUR GUESTS! (LD-7)

August 21, 2012

MY FAMILY USED TO GO TO BOB’S BIG BOY FOR DINNER.

We would walk over about once a week. This is where I developed my penchant for Fried Chicken. They had the World’s Best!

I always looked forward to the next edition of Big Boy comics. This was a little comic book that they had that starred Bob, his girlfriend Dolly and his dog, Nugget. They had all sorts of adventures and I liked to read the whole thing from cover to cover.

I was very intrigued by the PRICE of this comic book and I had many questions for my Mom about it. The price was always crossed out, and then it had a stamped circle that said:

FREE TO OUR GUESTS

The funny thing (funny ODD, not funny HAHA) about it was that the PRICE of the comic book kept going up. However they were always ALWAYS! stamped FREE TO OUR GUESTS

I always asked my Mom, “WHO are they selling these comic books to?”

I wanted to know because I could not fathom WHO would be dumb enough to pay a nickel (later, a dime, a quarter and eventually thirty-five cents) for a comic book that had FREE…stamped right on it??!!

I was certain that I could sell a lot of junk from my room to such a (gullible!) person…

It was even more of a mystery that the price changed many times but always free to me, as their guest.

MANY YEARS LATER…

Grown and married I was when my husband and I took a trip and we were going to be in the vicinity of a Bob’s Big Boy restaurant.

He asked me if I wanted to eat there. I said SURE!

I asked the waitress if they still had the comic books?

She said that they DID and would I like her to bring me one?

SURE!

While we waited for our meal and the comic book, I told my husband the story of the price going up and that these comics were always free and how mystified I was about the whole thing.

The waitress brought the magazine and….and….

IT SAID

FREE TO OUR GUESTS

as always… (sigh)

I really got a laugh out of what came next. The price must have been going up STEADILY over these nearly 40 years!

The price on the cover:

$1734.26

Apparently I was not the ONLY person that was keeping track!

I thought that was precious.

The End.

(note: The author of this blog lives in Northern California. There are no Bob’s Big Boy restaurants in the area. The author continues to muse about them and whom she might sell the comics to, if she ever gets the chance…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine Maxwell permalink
    September 12, 2012 6:47 pm

    There was a Bob’s Big Boy in Temecula for a short period, but it has closed. I guess there just weren’t enough of us old time fans left. Mom

  2. September 12, 2012 8:19 pm

    I still have not been able to find someone who will BUY a comic book. It has something to do with that “FREE TO OUR GUESTS” stamp that is always there…

Leave a Reply

