Skip to content

HELLO FROM MS. DEB!

January 6, 2014

Hello from ‘Ms. Deb’:                                                                                                                                                                              Welcome to the New Year! 2014 is going to be a good year. I have a hope and a positive outlook for the future and all that will unfold.      I hope that you do too! I am writing to you today, because you were one of my students. Or Parents. Or Co-workers, or friends..Once upon a time, we played games, read books and ate snacks together, laughed together and learned all sorts of great stuff.                        I was 26 when I started my job as ‘Ms. Deb’, at Central Valley School-Age Program.                                                                              Myself, I never had kids. YOU were my kids!  J  I worked there for 18 years. Some of the best days of my life were spent in my classroom. I learned a lot from all of you. I have very fond memories of working there. You may have come into my class as a scared little Kindergartner, but I hope that when you left the daycare, you had some fine social tools and skills.       Today—

I need your help.

Little kids need your help! Shasta Lake is a community that needs safe quality full day care for kids. This has been TAKEN AWAY.          I NEED YOU TO SPEAK UP.                                                                                                                                                                   You were in the program. Can you please write something? Anything? Even Four sentences…If you will please take a moment to relate a memory that you may have about the day care…what you liked; how you and your family were served by the program and what impact did the school on Ashby road make— upon you(?)

Please Do This Simple Thing                  

In case you have not heard, The Daycare where I worked and you went—(after-school, summer, spring and Winter break)…has closed down. Ashby Day Care has been “permanently” closed by the county.

I THINK THE SCHOOL IS A VALUABLE ASSET TO LOCAL FAMILIES!

I NEED YOU TO TELL YOUR STORY!    (Even if it is just a couple of lines.)   AND…                                              

I need you to spread the word! Do you know other former students?                                                                                                           The more I can show ACTUAL CONCRETE EVIDENCE IN THE FORM OF PERSONAL TESTIMONY…that there are many people that valued the experience that we provided. The daycare has been in operation since the 1960’s!  The closure came with the budget cuts in August. This program was not the only victim. The ax fell on others—the loss was shared by the other (Full Day) County programs all over Shasta County. It did not happen all at once, but gradually. The full-day programs were phased out and replaced with half-day sessions. People work! They need a full day program. Full day care is vital to working parents, the majority of our families.                                                                                                                                               

  I HAVE APPROACHED THE CITY.  I HAVE SPOKEN TO THE COUNTY.                                                                            

         I BELIEVE THEY ARE OPEN TO A PLAN.                                                                                                               

 They have ‘shelved’ this school issue until the spring. This is why I need your help NOW.                   

Please write to me (even short is OK) and let me know how the day care made an impact on you.                                                          My goal is to have a lot of letters. Over 3,000 kids passed through my class.

Thanks for the memories!                                                                                                                                                             

Ms. Deb (Baker) O’Neil   

 Deboworldre@yahoo.com                                                                                                                                                      

 PO Box 89, Shasta Lake, CA 96019                                                                                                                      

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

