Skip to content

OTHER THAN THAT, MRS. LINCOLN, HOW’D YOU LIKE THE PLAY?

January 16, 2013

OK I know….

That is the punchline of a sick joke.

It seems to be apt though.

I auditioned for a play at our local community theater.

I was offered a part.

The part of a character named Barbara.

Rehearsal began and I excused myself from several activities for the duration:

ZUMBA….

BIBLE STUDY….

GAME NIGHT WITH DEAR FRIENDS….

I showed up each week night for rehearsal.

I showed up EARLY.

I was quite willing to go the distance.

The Director tried several different things during our first week of rehearsal.

I was prepared to do whatever the Directors (several) asked of me.

They wanted BUTCH.  I was BUTCH…

They said NO…GO back to SWEET…(I was sweet)

They said after a week…

DEB YOU ARE NOT RIGHT FOR THE PART.

So…

Is it possible to be fired from a volunteer job?

IT IS!

I was…

OK so I will just resume my former busy schedule 🙂

I will return to my status quo, as it were…

What I am thinking is…

Groucho Marx said it best.

I will not join a club (play) that will have me as a member.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment